AMIS > About > AMIS Chair

Contact us

AMIS Secretariat
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
Viale delle Terme di Caracalla
00153 Rome, Italy

Tel: (+39) 06 570 53539
Fax: (+39) 06 570 53152

The AMIS Chair

The AMIS Chair is elected by consensus among the AMIS participating countries and its term is of twelve months, covering two ordinary meetings of the Global Food Market Information Group and one of the Rapid Response Forum. The AMIS Chair does not follow the Chair of G20.

List of AMIS Chairs

Canada (2018-2019)
Marco Valicenti, Director General, Sector Development and Analysis Directorate, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Argentina (2017-2018)
Jesús María Silveyra, Undersecretary of Agricultural Markets, Ministry of Agroindustry

Germany (2016-2017)
Friedrich Wacker, Deputy Director General for International Cooperation and Global Food Policy, Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture

United States of America (2015-2016)
Robert Johansson, Chief Economist, United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)

United Kingdom (2014-2015)
Ian Mitchell, Deputy Director for International Evidence and Analysis, Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs (DEFRA)

Australia (2013-2014)
Karen Schneider, Executive Director, Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Sciences (ABARES)

United States of America (2012-2013)
Joe Glauber, Chief Economist, United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)

France (2011-2012)
Eric Allain, 
General Director for Agriculture, Ministry of Food, Agriculture, Fisheries, Rural Development and Territorial Planning